top of page

A Guide to Post Graduation: Post Graduation Blues

Hey Guys...

So, I see it's nearing the end of #GraduationSZN !! I'm so proud of all the high school graduates that are starting their new lives in college or whatever path you guys have chosen.. However, this post is for the COLLEGE GRADS. Shout out to ya'll! I know the struggle. Late nights, burning the midnight oil, studying, cramming, and early mornings.. but don't forget about the partying, laziness, and over eating lol I KNOWWW. It's been 3 years since my college graduation and that day was literally the happiest day of my life but also a bittersweet one because I had no idea where I was going next. A feeling sunk in that all college grads have at one point or another, "Post Graduation Blues". This feeling is of uncertainty, confusion, feeling of failure, and wanting more but not being able to get it right then. This feeling could cause deep depression and anxiety, yea it's serious!

 

On the bright side, I'm going to give you a couple tips on how get over the post graduation blues! Read Carefully:

1. Don't take "grace periods" - If a job is not in your near future right after undergrad, do not take time off to "chill". This time off could be detrimental. Take my word. If you are wanting to go to grad school, GO. TRAVEL, GO! Don't sit around and do nothing.

2. Don't compare - There will be PLENTY of your colleagues who will get jobs right after graduation, it's their time. Be happy for them, as hard as it may be. Your time will come. BE PATIENT.

3. Keep busy- This goes back to number 1, do something with your time. Go off and explore the world, read more books(as if you hadn't read a lifetime of them already), explore every aspect around you that you weren't able to do when you were tied up in school. Grab a hobby, something to keep you busy and keep your mind working on the regular.

4. Actively search - Apply for positions that best fit your qualifications, YES, you have qualifications. PUT THEM TO USE.

5. RESEARCH - In the event that you find the position that you really want, DO YOUR RESEARCH! There are plenty sites that have reviews on companies around you. Find out their mission statements, what they are all about, the ins and outs of the position that you are applying for. Don't settle just to say you've landed a job right out of college. Believe me, IT COULD BE DETRIMENTAL to your overall success if you skip this tip.

So yea, these 5 tips are probably at the top of my list and most important for me. Why? Because right out of college, I did NONE of these. That's why I urge you to do them, I promise it will make your life much easier. I don't think there is a way out of getting post graduation blues, however, there are always coping techniques. I hope this helps!!

-Sincerely Anstacia <3

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page