top of page

I Am Not My Hair

Happy Monday Guys!!

Did you have a good weekend??? I hope so :-)

So.. let's talk about HAIR. What is your hair texture like? Are you relaxed? Natural? Transitioning? Or just wingin' it?

I get this question alllll the time "Anstacia, what do you do to your hair to make it so curly like that?" Honestly, before "Shea Moisture", I put nothing in it. My mom always washed and conditioned it, I've worn braids, faux locs, sew-in's, permed straight hair too! I wouldn't say I'm natural because if I want a sew-in, my mom would relax my edges ..so...does that make me "un-natural?" idk... It's been about 1.5 years since I've gotten my hair relaxed I guess..

But here are some questions that people love to ask me about my curly locs.

1. Are you natural? Uh... no, well for the time being lol until I relax my edges again (they are unruly!)

2. Has your hair always been like that?! YES. I've always had very curly wavy hair, since I could remember! I didn't actually grow hair until I was about 2 years old though lol. My mom would always put Baby Magic lotion and water on it..nothing else.

3. After you straighten your hair, does it go back to being curly? Well, my "natural hair" has always been curly and wavy, I'm not sure what other state it would go to after straightening it. So yes, it curls right back up. No heat damage. However, you might want to use your favorite heat protectant just to be sure you DON'T get heat damage. Everyone's hair is different.

4. How often do you wash your hair? .. I'm kind of ashamed to say, but uhhhh maybe every 2.5 weeks? I'm lazy. Don't be like me.. .wash your hair fam.

5. What do you use in your hair now? Hmm, when I wear buns, I'll spray water on it, and run some Shea Moisture's Curl Enhancing Smoothie on it, brush it back and use Hicks edge control (or whatever edge control is around). When I wear it out, I'll use the same thing only difference is I'll finger coil my hair for more definition. However, lately I've been using the Eco Styler Flaxseed and Castor oil Gel (VIDEO AND BLOG POST COMING ON MY REVIEWS) on my hair while in a bun.

6. Would you ever get another relaxer? YES. Relaxers don't ruin your hair, it's the way you treat your hair when you have one that is the determining factor. Shoot, your hair could be "natural" and damaged.

7. Have you always worn your hair "out"? NO.. Honestly, I JUST started wearing my natural curls out about 2 years ago. Why? Because I hated the way it looked. I didn't know how to manage it. So I'd always wear it in ponytails(when I was younger) or a bun(now that I'm older). Yet, it was beautiful ! I never wore it out at my job either, because I thought I'd get stares and comments...(and I did!) Just last summer I told myself that who cares what others "think" or "say" about my big hair. So now, I wear my curly locs with pride and I DARE anyone to tell me to pull it back. :-)

So yea, maybe I'm in the category of "just winging it".

Pictured below, are different ways that I've worn my hair... check it out!!

Naturally Curly:

As a child, my mom always gave me cute ponytails:

Faux Locs or Braids:

Flat Ironed Natural Hair:

Sew-In:

Be nice to your hair, and your hair will be nice to you, no matter HOW you wear it!!

-Sincerely Anstacia

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page